Beet Gazpacho with Summer Vegetables- GF, Dairy free, Vegan

photo 5 (2)Guys. I have so much to tell you. First, there’s a recipe for a light, lemony, souffle. Then there’s gluten free empanadas that still need a couple tweaks. Then there’s a totally awesome job I got. Then there’s THIS beet gazpacho. But I only have time to write about one today, so let’s make it the one with definitively the best pictures. Because is it possible to take a bad picture of something so colorful as a big pile of summer vegetables??? (The answer, I found, is still yes. But only if you realllllly suck at photography like moi).

So, nice cold soup, filled to the brim with goodness and vitamins, and tangy and sweetly vinegary. Yum.

I know this might be construed as borscht (it’s not!- borscht has cabbage and potatoes, so not so good for the baby), and the fact that it has no bread nor tomatoes makes it a gazpacho anomaly. Also, that’s the name of my new band . GAZPACHO ANOMALY. GAZPALY ANOMACHO. Whatever. I know I’m weird, ok?

The recipe’s been adapted from Mile End Deli’s blog, but I tweaked quite a few things, and then changed the size for 4 instead of….20. Who serves 20????

Beet Gazpacho

  • 4 small roasted beets, peeled- cover w/foil in a loaf pan and bake for about 2 hrs at 400, or use canned ones. Whatever works.
  • 1 medium raw beet, peeled
  • 1 large spanish onion, sliced thin
  • 1/2 a bunch of celery
  • 2 red bell peppers
  • 3 cucumbers, seeded
  • 2 cups chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons salt, or to taste

photo 3 (4)

Medium dice up all your vegetables except for the onions (slice those thinly), and combine in a bowl. Add the red wine and balsamic vinegars, 1 tablespoon salt, and your pinch of cayenne. It wont provide a definite heat, but it will perk up the flavor.

Let all that marinate for at least 45 minutes or longer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo 4 (2)Working in two batches, blend about 6 cups of the vegetables with the chicken stock. (That’s 3 cups at a time with 1 cup of chicken stock). I like to blend it for 3-4 minutes on high- the texture wont get creamy per se, but it can get smoother. SAVE an additional 3-4 cups of diced vegetables to add to the soup before serving. I was going to quick pickle some veggies to top the soup, but when I tasted the ones I had marinated, I came to the conclusion that they would serve the same purpose.

Add more salt/cayenne/vinegar to taste, top with the marinated veg, some chives, and a dollop of buttermilk or sour cream if you can have dairy. Eat up, enjoy, and smile.

Also, try to love yourself, even if it’s hot and sticky and you feel a little gross.
: )

